Gelatin in Yogurt! Why? + Yogurts Without Gelatin

Update (2/6/2016): Now I’ve switched to eating mostly Siggi’s Skyr (Icelandic yogurt) or if not available, then plain Greek Yogurt with either Parchayi’s homemade jam or Trader Joe’s reduced sugar (these just have less sugar, no substitutes) preserves.

Update (8/26/14): Now I’ve switched to mostly eating Greek Yogurt, which doesn’t contain gelatin and is a lot tastier. Watch out for “Greek Style” ones though.

I’ve noticed that most flavored yogurts in grocery stores have gelatin in them. Now there is no particular reason Yogurt needs gelatin. I would venture to guess that gelatin is cheaper than yogurt and is a tasteless filler material that probably saves companies money and makes the consistency arguably better.

dannon raspberry

However personally, I see no particular consistency difference in yogurts with and without gelatin so I say it is all a gimmick to save money and also cheat customers into paying more for so called “All Natural” products which have fewer nasty ingredients. Dannon is one major national brand which does this – try to sell you a more expensive “All Natural” yogurt.

Proof that gelatin is more of a filler than for consistency comes from the fact that even yogurt drinks such as Danimals contain gelatin. Even expensive ones such as La Crème contain gelatin! I examined the possibility that gelatin could increase the nutrition of yogurts because of the high amount of protein, however gelatin causes a net loss of protein.

Note to vegetarians – almost all gelatin in food products comes from animals (e.g. Dannon’s comes from cattle hide). There are many brands of yogurt that contain no gelatin especially organic brands and yogurt marked “all natural”.

Some brands that I know of are Stonyfield Farm, Brown Cow (their cream top yogurts are my new favorite), Horizon, Dannon All Natural only, Harris Teeter store brand. If you know of others, please comment and I’ll add to this list.


15 thoughts on “Gelatin in Yogurt! Why? + Yogurts Without Gelatin

  1. Andrea says:

    As a vegetarian, I found this extremely helpful, thank you!

  2. Aditi says:

    Oh my god. This helped me SO much– I am a vegetarian.
    Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!

  3. alpha says:

    So you torture cows for milk but are afraid of eating their bones? Your hypocrisy makes me vomit.

  4. Sidd says:

    @alpha – I’m not into ingesting parts of dead critters. You are welcome to them.

  5. DJ says:

    I am a vegetarian. Try sjhopping at a local Indian grocery store. Most, if not all, yogurt in the stores will be vegetarian and may contain pectin (a gelatin like substance derived from fruit rather than animals). The vegetarian products should have a green circle surrounded by a green square indicating that the product is vegetarian. All processed and packaged food in India have this logo.

  6. wyrt says:

    halalman finds your research very helpful in navigating through the food jungle!

  7. gloryrant says:

    Is siggi yogurt clear of gelatin?

  8. Bismah says:

    Is Lancashire Farm Greek Style Yogurt halal?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: